Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

2018 APRA Silver Scroll Top 5 finalists announced

Story Published Thursday 30 August 2018
2018 APRA Silver Scroll Top 5

Five top acts have made the shortlist for the 2018 APRA Silver Scroll Award, recognising excellence in songwriting.

They are:

  • Aztechknowledgey, written and performed by Troy Kingi, published by Native Tongue Music Publishing
  • Future Me Hates Me, written by Elizabeth Stokes and performed by The Beths, published by Gaga Music on behalf of Carpark Publishing Tracks
  • Hunnybee, written by Ruban Nielson*, Kody Nielson* and Jacob Portrait, performed by Unknown Mortal Orchestra, published by Mushroom Music*
  • Laugh It Off , written by Chelsea Jade Metcalf and Bradley Hale*, performed by Chelsea Jade, published by Native Tongue Music Publishing on behalf of Pulse Publishing*
  • Nobody Gets What They Want Anymore, written by Marlon Williams, performed by Marlon Williams featuring Aldous Harding, published by Native Tongue Music Publishing

In the last few years Troy Kingi has captivated New Zealand as both a musician and actor, with brilliant roles in films like Mt Zion and Hunt For The Wilderpeople, and two acclaimed albums of psychedelic party blues. He’s a first time finalist for Aztechknowledgey, a cosmic jam about ancestry and our connection to the past and future.

Another first time finalist, Elizabeth Stokes (lead singer/songwriter for The Beths) is shortlisted for her charming, tender, time-warp love song Future Me Hates Me, from their just-released album of the same name. The breezy, upbeat track is typical of their style and sound which has been gaining a lot of attention and fans around the world.

Third time finalists and former winners Unknown Mortal Orchestra (Ruban Nielson, Kody Nielson, and Jacob Portrait) are back in the shortlist for 2018 with their easy-groove track Hunnybee. From their new album Sex & Food, the serene yet bittersweet tune contemplates the wistfulness of distance, with lyrics inspired by Ruban’s daughter.

Returning for the second year in a row, Chelsea Jade is shortlisted for her delightful synth-driven pop propulsion Laugh It Off. The LA based artist (formerly of Teacups and Watercolours), manages to celebrate the value of self-love in the face of a crumbling relationship, mixing and matching cheeky lines with dead serious sentiments, supported by a deep-funk bassline.

Also gaining his second finalist spot is engaging alt-country crooner Marlon Williams, with his stunning duet with Aldous Harding, Nobody Gets What They Want Anymore. Pairing driving guitar and subtle strings with tender harmonies, it’s a sweeping ballad which encapsulates the true tyranny of heartbreak.

The APRA Silver Scroll Awards is considered one of the most coveted awards in New Zealand music and has previously been awarded to artists such as Ray Columbus, Hammond Gamble, Shona Laing, Dave Dobbyn, Don McGlashan, Neil Finn, Chris Knox, Brooke Fraser, James Milne and Lukasz Buda, Alisa Xayalith, Thom Powers, and Aaron Short (The Naked And Famous), Tami Neilson, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Thomas Oliver, Ella Yelich O’Connor and Joel Little.

The other awards presented on the night are:

  • APRA Maioha Award, celebrating exceptional waiata featuring te reo Māori
  • SOUNZ Contemporary Award, celebrating excellence in contemporary composition
  • APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award
  • APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award

All awards will be presented at Spark Arena in Auckland on Thursday 4th October.

The awards are proudly supported by Hallertau Brewery, and Soho Wines.