Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

2021 APRA Maioha Award top 5

Story Published Thursday 15 July 2021
2021 Maioha Top 5

This Top 5 list was chosen from over 30 entries by a judging panel of 4 experts who have each made wonderful contributions to the waiata reo Māori and waiata reo rua community

The judging panel were (in alphabetical order):Matai Smith, Nadia Marsh, Ngatapa Black, and Pere Wihongi

  • He Aio, written by Hamiora Tuari, Matthew Sadgrove, Sam Eriwata, and Tei Nohotima, performed by Haami
  • Karawhiua, written by Logan Bell, Matthew Sadgrove, Stephen Maxwell, translated by Paraone Gloyne, performed by Katchafire (Published by Loop Publishing | Kobalt Music Publishing Australia)
  • Te , written by Tame-Hoake Tuari, Tatana Tuari, Hamiora Tuari, and Sam Eriwata, performed by Tuari Brothers
  • Toroa, written by Mara Te Kahika and Cory Champion, performed by Mara TK
  • Waitī Waitā, written by Maisey Rika* and Seth Haapu, performed by Maisey Rika (*Published by First Nation Music - Aotearoa)

(Voting closed)

All APRA members are now invited to vote for their top three Maioha Award waiata from the list of 5, and their top five Silver Scroll songs from the list of 20.

These votes from the APRA membership will determine the five finalists and winner of the 2021 APRA Silver Scroll Award, and the three finalists and winner of the 2021 APRA Maioha Award.

Listen to a playlist of all top five Maioha Award waiata HERE.

You can read more details on judging and voting processes for the Silver Scroll Awards HERE.

“These lists are a wonderful reflection of the incredible music being written all across Aotearoa - songs that tell our stories, lead us to contemplate issues or questions, and make us feel something” says APRA Head of NZ Operations Anthony Healey.

“Of course there are plenty of excellent songwriters who missed out – coming up with these lists is always a hard job for the judging panels, and we thank and commend everyone who continues to create such valuable work.”  

Past recipients of the Silver Scroll Award include a long list of iconic Kiwi music stalwarts - from Dave Dobbyn, Don McGlashan and Shona Laing to Neil Finn, Bic Runga, and Ray Columbus. They’re joined by a younger generation of music makers that include James Milne & Luke Buda, Ella Yelich-O’Connor (Lorde) & Joel Little, Tami Neilson, Ruban & Kody Nielson, Marlon Williams, Aldous Harding, Stella Bennett (Benee), Josh Fountain, & Djeisan Suskov.

Past recipients of the APRA Maioha Award include formative kaitito puoro such as Ruia Aperahama, Ngahiwi Apanui, Whirimako Black, Maisey Rika, Stan Walker, Troy Kingi, and Alien Weaponry, who have all taken home Te Ngore - the Maioha award sculpture carved by Brian Flintoff.

The APRA Silver Scroll Award and APRA Maioha Award will be presented at Spark Arena on Thursday October 14.

The other awards presented on the night are:

You can watch past award presentations and performances HERE.

With thanks to NZ On Air and Hallertau Brewery