Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

2022 Taite Music Prize winners

Story Published Monday 30 May 2022
Anthonie Tonnon has won the 2022 Taite Music Prize for his album Leave Love Out Of This

Also honoured at the ceremony: trailblazer Karyn Hay, visionary producer Alan Jansson; dream-folk artist Jazmine Mary; Aotearoa music champion, Tony Stamp and industry changemaker Alison Mau

Tonight, the 2022 Taite Music Prize, which highlights outstanding New Zealand albums released in the previous calendar year, was awarded to Anthonie Tonnon for his critically praised album, Leave Love Out Of This released on Slow Time Records. Anthonie receives a $12500 cash prize thanks to founding partners Recorded Music NZ and the NZ Music Commission.

The Auckland Live Best Independent Debut went to Jazmine Mary for their debut album The Licking of a Tangerine. The album was recorded at Neil Finn’s Roundhead Studios with support from Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and Dave Kahn (Marlon Williams, Reb Fountain). Their sound has been described as “dream-folk”; visceral and haunting with “rose-tinted sounds which will allow you to be transported somewhere bold and watery.” Jazmine is awarded a $2000 cash prize plus a performance or technical upskilling opportunity thanks to Auckland Live.

The Independent Spirit Award was granted to Karyn Hay ONZM for her contribution to music awareness in Aotearoa since the 1980’s through the groundbreaking TV series, Radio With Pictures and throughout her career via Kiwi FM, and music documentaries. Karyn’s contribution continues as host of RNZ National’s Lately show with an eye on live events, an ear for music, a great sense of humour and a genuine interest in people and their stories.

The inaugural NZ On Air Outstanding Music Journalism award was presented to RNZ Music journalist, Tony Stamp, for his work creating long-form music documentaries and features, interviewing artists, and discussing new music on Song Crush and currently hosting music review show The Sampler. Tony receives a $2500 cash prize, thanks to NZ On Air.

Alongside this award a judge’s special commendation was acknowledged of Alison Mau’s work for Stuff covering NZ music industry practices and sexual harm prevention.

The Independent Music NZ Classic Record award was presented to producer Alan Jansson for the showcasing 1994 compilation, PROUD - An Urban-Pacific Streetsoul Compilation. Jansson worked with Tim Mahon (from Otara Music Arts Centre and Blam Blam Blam) and Phil Fuemana to bring in a range of artists representing the contemporary Māori and Pacifica music of the time. The result was the hugely influential 1994 compilation PROUD, featuring Sisters Underground, Pacifican Descendants, Semi MCs, MC Slam, Radio Backstab, DJ Payback, and Otara Millionaires Club.

Dylan Pellett, General Manager Independent Music New Zealand says, "This has been a special celebration this evening in so many ways, and I wish all of the winners my hearty congratulations. What a privilege to present this event on behalf of our membership and the wider music community. Top work everyone!"

The 2022 Taite Music Prize was held at Q Theatre in Tāmaki Makaurau and featured performances by 2021 Taite Music Prize winner, Reb Fountain.