Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

APRA AMCOS Annual General Meeting notice, and Board Elections open

Story Published Thursday 21 October 2021

This week, APRA AMCOS publishes our annual Year In Review report, while also announcing the date for the AGM (annual general meeting), and opening voting for writer and publisher representatives on the APRA and AMCOS boards.

It’s been another challenging year for our members and licensees, but there have been many bright spots too, and we provide a full rundown of the economic and financial trends as well as the various programs and activities that have taken place in our comprehensive Year In Review report.

Year in Review

This year’s virtual APRA Annual General Meeting (AGM) will be held on Tuesday 23 November 2021. The AGM is a chance for you to hear about how APRA performed during the 2021 financial year and ask questions of the APRA Board and management.

Members are also invited to vote for representatives to fill the vacant positions on both boards over the next three weeks.

Voting to elect directors to the APRA and AMCOS Boards is conducted before the AGM. Board election voting closes on Tuesday 16 November 2021 at 5:00pm AEDT. Voting is done via the member portal.

The results of the election will be announced at the virtual AGM on Tuesday 23 November 2021 and published on the APRA AMCOS website.

(Please note, if you are an earning member who is eligible to attend the AGM and/or vote, you will receive an email with the relevant information and links.)

While Bic Runga's continued term as the NZ APRA Writer Director means there are no positions for NZ writer members to vote for on the APRA Board this year, Australian APRA members (writers and publishers), as well as AMCOS members across both territories, are invited to vote in the board elections.

There are 2 vacant positions for APRA Australia Writer representatives on the APRA board; 2 vacant positions for APRA Publisher representatives on the APRA board; and 6 vacant positions for the AMCOS board.

It is an opportunity for the boards to become more reflective of our diverse membership, and the current Writer Directors serving on the board are keen to encourage members to engage in the process.

The six Writer Directors who currently represent the writer membership on the APRA Board are: Jenny Morris MNZM OAM (Chair), Amanda Brown, Mark Callaghan, Chris Neal, Bic Runga, and Jonathan Zwartz.

The following is a message from the Writer Directors on the APRA Board:

We are very proud to represent the writer membership on the APRA Board, and we are conscious that big challenges lie ahead for the company and for our membership at large. How do we support and protect the livelihoods of the APRA membership through the scarring devastation of the COVID-19 pandemic? How do we, as individual music creators ourselves, represent the varied interests and voices of our diverse writer and composer members, while leading and governing the business on behalf of the whole collective? How do we balance the complex commercial and compliance aspects of our responsibility with the increasing call from our membership for greater accountability on social issues such as equality, inclusion and diversity?

When our colleague and friend, Chris Neal, recently announced he was voluntarily stepping down from the APRA Board after 21 years of service, he said he was doing so in the hope that the writer membership would elect in his place a candidate that expanded the diversity of the APRA Board. We recognise and endorse the view that greater diversity of perspective on our Board will strengthen our ability to navigate these challenging times by bringing different viewpoints and challenging assumptions.