Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

Global APRA Music Awards London Winners announced

Story Published Saturday 7 March 2020
Jordan Rakei and Loyle Carner

Jordan Rakei presented with Songwriter of the Year award by Loyle Carner

Jed Kurzel, Cloves and Nick Cave & Warren Ellis honoured

The Global APRA Music Awards London celebrated the vanguard of songwriting and composing last night at the Ham Yard Hotel Soho, with an evening hosted by singer-songwriter Georgia Mooney.The awards were presented by APRA AMCOS and given to UK and European-based Australasian songwriters, composers and music publishers achieving artistic excellence and commercial success. The London awards wrap up our trio of events under the ‘global’ banner, following Los Angeles (26 February) and Nashville (1 March) ceremonies.

London-based APRA AMCOS Ambassadors Juanita Stein and Alexander Burnett presented the first award of the night, with Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year London awarded to Australian singer-songwriter Cloves (Kaity Dunstan). Her debut album ‘One Big Nothing’ showcased a cinematic-pop sound; following its release she performed on Late Night with Seth Meyers, toured through Europe and continually is featured on top playlists on the major streaming services.

Songwriter of the Year London was awarded to New Zealand-born, Australian-raised and current London resident Jordan Rakei, who was presented with the honour by UK hip-hop artist Loyle Carner. The past year was filled with career highlights for the indie soul singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist with co-writes and a feature on Carner’s #3 UK album Not Waving, But Drowning, the release of his LP Origin on Ninja Tune, worldwide touring and a nomination for Best Independent Album at the AIM Independent Music Awards.

The Overseas Recognition Award London was presented by pop artist Josef Salvat and awarded to acclaimed screen composer Jed Kurzel. The former frontman of Sydney blues-rock band The Mess Hall, Kurzel has composed music and scores for Snowtown, Assasin’s Creed, Alien: Covenant, and recently collaborated again with his filmmaker brother Justin Kurzel on the music for True History of the Kelly Gang.

The Distinguished Services Award London was given to Australia’s legendary songwriting and composing partners Nick Cave and Warren Ellis, and presented by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds guitarist George Vjestica, who shared a video thank you from the pair and accepted on their behalf. Cave and Ellis have collaborated for decades across musical projects – from the lauded indie rock of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds and Grinderman to emotive film scores including The Proposition, The Road and The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford.

"I want to thank you, Warren, for opening up the idea of songwriting for me. When you step into a song with Warren Ellis, you really don't know where it's going to lead, and for me that's been enormously helpful," said Cave in the pair's acceptance.

"You've always pushed me to go as far as I wanted to. No one has ever said 'no' – and you in particular never said 'no' – and I think it's just allowed us to keep exploring everthing, whether it's songs, whether it's scores, whether it's whatever," Ellis said to Cave.

“For decades, our members have been heading to London and all over the UK as their first overseas destination when taking the big leap into an international career, and that’s expanded to Berlin, Amsterdam and all of Europe as Australian and New Zealand songwriters achieve unprecedented global success,” said APRA AMCOS Chief Executive Dean Ormston.

“This event is about celebrating our members living and working in the UK and Europe, and also about going back home and sharing the stories of all your achievements.”

The evening was hosted by singer, songwriter and All Our Exes Live in Texas band member Georgia Mooney and featured an opening performance by nominee Chiara Hunter and Mali-Koa, who performed ‘Mad World,’ co-written by Rakei, Kwabena Adjepong and Christopher Taylor. Daniel Merriweather closed the evening in style with a performance of ‘We No Who U R’ by Cave and Ellis.

Global APRA Music Awards - London - Winners

Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year

Kaity Dunstan (pka Cloves) (Writer)
Universal Music Publishing obo Canal Music Publishing (Publisher)

Overseas Recognition Award

Jed Kurzel (Writer)
G Schirmer Australia obo Chester Music (Publisher)

Songwriter of the Year

Jordan Rakei (Writer)
Sony/ATV Music Publishing (Publisher)

Distinguished Services Award

Nick Cave & Warren Ellis (Writers)
Mushroom Music obo Mute Song Limited (Publisher)