Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

Parachute Music Song Week 2023 re-cap

Story Published Tuesday 1 August 2023
49 songwriters attended Parachute Music's Song Week in 2023

Parachute Music's Kingsland studios were humming last week, with their annual Song Week writing camp.

A diverse group of 49 Aotearoa musicians attended Song Week 2023, which was organised by Jane de Jong (Ruby Frost).

Running from July 24 - 28, this year's event brought new teams of writers together each day, with the goal of writing a song a day. 45 songs were created over the five day event, and the week finished with a Listening Party.

Founded in 2019, Song Week has now been running for five consecutive years. This year's event was the first year to include international guest songwriters; UK writer/producer Alex Stacey (One Republic, MIKA, Lecrae), and Australian topliner Demi Louise (UMPG). Parachute also ran a Q&A session with Greg Haver and Alex Stacey for attendees.

Event organiser Jane de Jong explains, "It was great to have nine studios filled every day, and to hear the energy and enthusiasm that everyone brought to their sessions. There were some great songs written, and having both Alex and Demi here sharing from their international experience added a lot."

Special thanks to NZ On Air and APRA AMCOS NZ for supporting Song Week 2023.

Artists and songwriters involved in Song Week 2023 included:
Aacacia, Lilly Carron, eleven7four, Rita Mae, Lepani, Demi Louise, Jake Schdroski, Who Shot Scott, Sam V, Luca George, Rita Mae, Melodownz, HALES, Kiki Rockwell, Alayna, MACEY, Sam Heselwood, Neil MacLeod, Aidan Fine, Evie, Gracie Moller, KEDU, JARNA, George Villa, TAWAZ, and more.

Producers included:
UK writer/producer Alex Stacey, Josh Naley, Dan Martin, Harry Charles, Joe Faris, EDY, Joel Jones, Will McGillivray, Terence O'Connor, Missy, GHOS, John Garcia, Elena Šiljić and more.

See more photos here