Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

Reb Fountain Wins the 2021 Taite Music Prize

Story Published Wednesday 21 April 2021
Reb Fountain

The 2021 Taite Music Prize which highlights outstanding New Zealand albums released in the past year was awarded to Reb Fountain for her critically praised self-titled album released on Flying Nun Records.

The Auckland Live Best Independent Debut went to Na Noise for their debut album Waiting For You released on the independent Tāmaki Makaurau label 1:12 Records.

The Independent Music NZ Classic Record award was presented to Patea Māori Club for their groundbreaking single 'Poi E' released in 1983 on Maui Records.

The Independent Spirit Award was granted to Pete Rainey and Glenn Common of Smokefree Rockquest for their contribution to music through 33 years of motivating young musicians and helping them to develop their talent and creativity, musicianship, and performance skills.

Dylan Pellett
, General Manager of Independent Music New Zealand says, "It’s astounding to me that we can celebrate together tonight and show off the talented artists that live and create in Aotearoa. What a privilege to present this event on behalf of our membership and the wider music community. Top work everyone!"

The 2021Taite Music Prize was held at Q Theatre in Tāmaki Makaurau and featured performances by Troy Kingi, Patea Māori Club and Na Noise performing Reb Fountain’s song 'Faster' from the prize-winning album.

The prestigious ceremony was hosted by 95bFM's Sarah Thomson with awards presented by Julia Deans and Anna Coddington. The event was attended by 400 industry, media, and artists from across the country and was a spectacular celebration of outstanding creative works made in Aotearoa.