Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

Announcing the music director for the 2019 Silver Scroll Awards

Story Published Thursday 8 August 2019
Nathan Haines

25 years after releasing New Zealand’s landmark jazz album, Shift Left, and dismantling genre barriers in an adventurous new way, Nathan Haines is bringing his musical prowess to the role of Music Director at the 2019 APRA Silver Scroll Awards.

The Music Director is responsible for all the performances throughout the ceremony. These performances that have become somewhat legendary over the years and APRA are excited to have Nathan bringing his innovative and astute musical skills and understanding to the awards ceremony, particularly given that Nathan is in the midst of preparing for two very special Shift Left anniversary shows later this month.

On the night, the five Silver Scroll finalists’ songs, as well as the winners of the Maioha Award and SOUNZ Contemporary Award – Te Tohu Auaha, and a tribute to the NZ Music Hall of Fame inductee are reinterpreted by different artists, bands, and once-in-a-lifetime, one-off collaborations.

"A great honour has been bestowed upon me and I am both humbled and excited” says Nathan.

“I plan to bring together some amazing New Zealand artists and performers from many different backgrounds to perform these important works which have been judged by the many APRA members around the country. It's a unique opportunity and I'm looking forward to October 2 very, very much!"

Nathan is performing the Shift Left anniversary shows at the Civic Theatre in Auckland on August 24th and at the Trafalgar Centre in Napier on August 17, alongside an impressive band made up of the original Shift Left players - Sonny Sagala, Joel Haines, Richard Hammond, Kevin Field, Alan Brown, Miguel Fuentes, and Richard Cesan.

The finalists for the SOUNZ Contemporary Award, APRA Screen Awards, APRA Maioha Award, and APRA Silver Scroll Award will be announced shortly.

All awards will be presented during a ceremony at Spark Arena in Auckland on Wednesday October 2nd. As a part of the celebrations, APRA will also be inducting a songwriter/s into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.

The awards are proudly supported by Hallertau Brewery, and Soho Wines.