Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

Create: A bilingual industry

Story Published Friday 8 May 2020
Kia ora, ko Hinewehi Mohi tēnei, nō Ngāti Kahungunu me Ngāi Tūhoe. I’m the Pītau Whakarewa for APRA AMCOS NZ

Kia ora, ko Hinewehi Mohi tēnei, nō Ngāti Kahungunu me Ngāi Tūhoe. I’m the Pītau Whakarewa for APRA AMCOS NZ supporting the growth of Māori music and the creation of a bilingual music industry in Aotearoa.

Given the changes to socialisation both here and abroad and its inevitable impact on the music industry, we need to be supportive of one another and innovative in our approach to the creation and consumption of music.

I’ve been working with our funding partners to initiate programmes that support Māori members and the emergence of a bilingual music industry. I’ll continue to develop this given the new paradigms we’re working in and keep you informed of upcoming opportunities.

Music is a powerful connector. Use it to tell your stories, to show your uniqueness, and above all, your aroha for others and yourself.

[email protected]

Te Kāhui Tau Facebook Group

Te Kāhui Tau - ngā kaititotito, ngā manutīoriori me ngā ringapuoro - a group for Māori songwriters, artists and musicians to share information about puoro and waiata.

Join the group HERE.

Kaputī & Kōrero livestream

Māori songwriters share stories, waiata and whakawhanaungatanga. Join Maisey Rika, Rob Ruha, Ria Hall, Pere Wihongi, Moana Maniapoto, Tama Waipara, Seth Haapu, Anna Coddington, and Matiu Walters to hear what these Māori musicians have been up to during the rāhui and their kōrero about making music in Aotearoa.

Watch HERE

Maioha Award Entries

First awarded in 2003, the APRA Maioha award was created to celebrate excellence in popular Māori composition, to inspire Māori composers to explore and express their culture and to increase awareness of waiata in te reo Māori throughout Aotearoa.

Since then, Te Ngore - the Maioha award sculpture carved by Brian Flintoff - has passed through the hands of some of Aotearoa’s most respected songwriters; from Ngahiwi Apanui - the inaugural recipient of the award - to Whirimako Black, Ruia Aperahama, Te Awanui Reeder, Maisey Rika, Rob Ruha, Vince Harder, Troy Kingi and Stan Walker, Alien Weaponry, and to most recent winners Ria Hall, Tiki Taane, and Te Ori Paki.

As Te Ngore passes from one composer to the next, it reminds us that music has the power to unite, bear witness, educate, agitate, comfort, illuminate and inspire us.

The winner of the APRA Maioha Award receives a $5000 cash prize and is the guardian of Te Ngore for one year.

General Resources

Please find general information and resources about applying for wage subsidies, Creative NZ Emergency Relief Grants, and MusicHelps Emergency Relief Grants f