Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

Finalists announced for 2021 SOUNZ Contemporary Music Award - Te Tohu Auaha

Story Published Thursday 19 August 2021
2021 SOUNZ Finalists

Some of Aotearoa’s best songwriters and composers have been shortlisted today for awards to be presented at the 2021 APRA Silver Scroll Awards | Kaitito Kaiaka.

The SOUNZ Contemporary Award celebrates excellence in contemporary composition.

The 2021 finalists are:

Written for four members of Paris chamber music group Ensemble Intercontemporian, Reuben Jelleyman’s outstanding composition Klein Fountain is greatly inspired by French computer music pioneer Jean-Claude Risset, as are most of his compositional ideas. The title Klein Fountain refers to Felix Klein's bottle, an object representing four spatial dimensions and an example of a non-orientable surface, perfectly translated in this work for flute, prepared piano, percussion (including the use of a loud-haler), and cello.

so flamed in the air was commissioned by the Slovenian Philharmonic Orchestra and premiered in Ljubljana, this year, having been written by Slovenian-based New Zealand composer Neville Hall throughout various levels of lockdown in Europe. The seven short movements that make up the work, trace the genesis of the musical event, with a scattering and reconfiguring of interrelated material throughout the entire composition. This gives rise to a homologous structure in which apparent contrasts conceal inner similarities based on a shared ancestry.

Janet Roddick, Steve Roche, and David Donaldson make up Wellington-based group Plan 9, predominantly known for their screen compositions. Supported by Creative NZ, The Bewilderness is a composition loosely based on the unsettling experience of the pandemic from the sudden shock, through the stages of drama and disruption to periods of peace and introspection. Written for altered string quartet and voices, it features David on double bass, Steve on fiddle, Janet on vocals and harmonium, Ruby Solly on vocals, taonga pūoro, and cello, Tristan Carter on violin, and Jonny Marks throat singing and percussion.

All awards will be presented at Spark Arena, Auckland on Thursday October 14th

The awards are proudly supported by NZ On Air and Te Māngai Pāho with thanks to Hallertau


For any media enquiries including interview and image requests, please contact:

Lauren Clough | MaidenNZ | [email protected] | + 64 21 223 6788