Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

Music Directors announced for the 2023 APRA Silver Scroll Awards | Kaitito Kaiaka

Story Published Thursday 31 August 2023
Steph Brown and Fen Ikner announced as the Music Directors for the 2023 APRA Silver Scroll Awards

APRA are thrilled to announce that Steph Brown and Fen Ikner aka LIPS have come on board to curate and guide the performances at the 2023 APRA Silver Scroll Awards. The Music Directors are responsible for all the performances throughout the ceremony, with their musical vision giving the night a distinctive spirit.   

LIPS won the APRA Silver Scroll Award for their song 'Everything To Me' in 2012, and were Top 20 finalists in 2022 for 'Not Today', in 2021 for 'Your Deodorant Doesn’t Work', and in 2020 for 'Guilty Talk'.

Aside from writing wonderful songs as LIPS, Steph and Fen also work across many other varied aspects of our music community, with backgrounds in jazz, pop, theatre and screen composition.

They are planning to bring a wonderfully theatrical perspective to the show, and a great variety of performances and musicians will be involved.

On the night the five Silver Scroll | Kaitito Kaiaka finalists’ songs, as well as the winners of the Tohu Maioha and SOUNZ Contemporary Award – Te Tohu Auaha, are reinterpreted by different artists, bands, and once-in-a-lifetime, one-off collaborations.

Also featured will be special tribute performances to Te Whare Taonga Puoro o Aotearoa | New Zealand Music Hall of Fame inductee Don McGlashan.

The 2023 APRA Silver Scroll Awards Kaitito Kaiaka are proudly supported by NZ On Air, Te Māngai Pāho, and Hallertau Brewery.