Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

Twenty-seven new waiata celebrating the bilingual music industry of Aotearoa

Story Published Friday 3 September 2021
Waiata Anthems Week

Today the Waiata/Anthems Coalition release the latest new waiata by more than two dozen established and emerging artists to celebrate the bilingual music industry in Aotearoa.

Following on from the momentum of the original 2019 waiata compilation album, today’s 27 new recordings have been released by Stan Walker, Paige, Sons of Zion, Georgia Lines, Tomorrow People, Troy Kingi, Louis Baker, Anna Coddington, and many, many more.

These songs join the already released ‘Pepeha’ by SIX60 and ‘Ko Te Hīnātoretanga’ by Hollie Smith and the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra.

Creator of Waiata/Anthems Dame Hinewehi Mohi says the collective music industry of Aotearoa coming together to celebrate and support a truly bilingual landscape is heartening.

“We’re supporting the movement with musicians from across the country to encourage all New Zealanders to celebrate our nation’s heritage language and to make it accessible through the power of music,” says Mohi.

“Creating this collection of waiata has been a journey for many of the artists involved, giving them a chance to connect with Te Ao Māori and their place in Aotearoa like never before.”

The full list of releases is below:

  • SIX60 - ‘Pepeha’
  • Stan Walker - ‘Tau Te Mārire / Take It Easy’
  • Hamo Dell - ‘Ora Ai / Feeling Right’
  • Paige - ‘Taiāniwha / Waves’
  • Niko Walters - ‘Aroha Kaitangata / Vicious Love’
  • Mikey Dam - ‘Māu / Would You’
  • Anna Coddington ft. Louis Baker - ‘Aho / Beams’
  • Muroki - ‘Rehurehu / Wavy’
  • Reuben Fleetwood - ‘Haere Rā / So Do You’’
  • Sons of Zion - ‘He Aroha Hinemoa / Love on the Run’
  • Hollie Smith feat. NZSO - ‘Ko Te Hīnātoretanga / Coming in from the Dark’
  • Troy Kingi - ‘Te Wai Nō Rua Whetū / Aztechknowledgey’
  • Ria Hall - ‘Rangatira / Owner’
  • Tomorrow People - ‘Rise Up’
  • Valkyrie - ‘A Hakamana’
  • Rei - 'Hoki Mai / Come Back To Me’
  • Huia Hamon - 'Marama La Luna / Moon Moon’
  • Ka Hao ft. Rob Ruha - ‘35’
  • Louis Baker - ‘Te Utu o Te Aroha’
  • Georgia Lines - ‘Tōrere / My Love’
  • Tama Waipara ft. Maisey Rika - ‘Tiaho Iho Rā / East Coast Moon’
  • William Waiirua - ‘Mauri Mahi, Mauri Ora / Do The Mahi, Get The Treats’
  • Diaz Grimm - ‘Te Kore’
  • Goldsmith Baynes - ‘Tīpuna’
  • Ainslie Allen - ‘Te Ua Ka Mao’
  • IA - ‘Whetū’
  • Kings - ‘Pohewatia’

Due to Alert Level lockdowns, the events planned to support the Waiata Anthems releases will be postponed until further notice.

All the waiata released can be found on Spotify, Apple Music, YouTube, Amazon Music, Tidal and more.

For more information, please visit