Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

2016 APRA Silver Scroll Awards team up with Radio NZ for first-ever live broadcast

Story Published Tuesday 6 September 2016

The 2016 Silver Scroll Awards will this year be televised live, thanks to a partnership between APRA AMCOS and RNZ.

It is the first time in the 51-year history of the awards that the event will be broadcast free-to-air by RNZ on Freeview Channel 50. There will also be a live video stream of the ceremony on RNZ’s newly updated website

With RNZ Checkpoint host John Campbell as MC, the rare live broadcast from Auckland’s Vector Arena on Thursday, September 29 will allow members of the public a window into one of the most exciting nights in the New Zealand music calendar.

The APRA Silver Scroll Award celebrates the best in New Zealand songwriting.

This year the top five finalists are Tami Neilson with ‘The First Man’, co-written with her brother Jay Neilson; The Phoenix Foundation (Samuel Scott, Lukasz Buda, Conrad Wedde, William Ricketts, Thomas Callwood, Christopher O'Connor) with ‘Give Up Your Dreams’; Lydia Cole with ‘Dream’; Thomas Oliver with ‘If I Move To Mars’ and Street Chant (Emily Littler, Billie Rogers, Alex Brown, Christopher Farnham) with ‘Pedestrian Support League’.

On the night, a host of Kiwi artists will cover each of the songs in unique performances – a part of the show that’s become a highlight of the annual awards.

The other awards presented on the night (with finalists to be announced this Thursday September 8) are:

  • APRA Maioha Award, celebrating exceptional waiata featuring te reo Māori
  • SOUNZ Contemporary Award, celebrating excellence in contemporary composition
  • APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award
  • APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award

As a part of the celebrations, APRA will also be inducting a songwriter/s into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.

All awards will be presented at Vector Arena in Auckland on Thursday 29th September.The awards are proudly supported by Panhead Custom Ales.