Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

Winners celebrated at the 2023 APRA Silver Scroll Awards Kaitito Kaiaka

Story Published Wednesday 4 October 2023

The 58th Annual APRA Silver Scroll Awards | Kaitito Kaiaka were held at Spark Arena in Tāmaki Makaurau tonight, a wonderful celebration of Aotearoa songwriters, composers, and award winners.

The event was opened with a beautiful welcome/mihi whakatau by Hātea Kapa Haka and hosted by the incredibly entertaining Bella Kalolo and Mātai Smith. With over 500 guests in attendance, it was an exciting and uplifting gathering including spectacular performances curated by 2023 Music Directors Steph Brown and Fen Ikner (LIPS). Performers included: Anna Coddington, JUJULIPPS, Half Hexagon, Koizilla, Majic Paora, Samara Alofa, Francesca Parussini, Isla Noon, Exploding Rainbow Orchestra, and Jed Parsons, with Steph and Fen occasionally joining the stage.

The 2023 Silver Scroll Award Kaitito Kaiaka winners were Elizabeth Stokes, Jonathan Pearce, Tristan Deck, and Ben Sinclair of The Beths. Their song ’Expert in a Dying Field’ was among 20 incredible tunes put forward to the New Zealand APRA membership (songwriters and composers) to decide who deserved the prize.

It was a long-awaited win for the globally recognised indie rockers who have reached the Top 5 list many times now. Unfortunately, they were unable to attend the awards as they are back on a lengthy tour across the U.S, but APRA were able to catch them before they left, to announce them as winners and offer them their special moment in lieu of attending the ceremony. Watch their acceptance speech here. 'Expert In A Dying Field’ was performed by Tāmaki Mākaurau experimental electronic songwriter and producer Samara Alofa with a 6-piece band.

Don McGlashan was celebrated tonight and welcomed into the NZ Music Hall of Fame | Te Whare Taonga Puoro o Aotearoa. Don has been specially recognised as a songwriter, advocate, and leader in the New Zealand music community who has reached across a broad spectrum of genres and musical spheres. Music Directors Steph and Fen curated fantastic performances in honour of Don: the legendary Mutton Birds song ‘The Heater’ was performed by Anna Coddington & The Appreciations featuring comedy dance ensemble DYNAMOTION; The Exploding Rainbow Orchestra and Vera Ellen paid tribute by performing 'Andy’ by The Front Lawn; and the night was closed with an epic performance of ‘Tomorrow Night’ by Jed Parsons. Watch the official tribute video from the awards show.

Neo-soul artist Mohi Allen took home the 2023 APRA Maioha Award tonight for his heartfelt waiata ‘Me Pēhea Rā’ co-written with Hēmi Kelly, Amy Boroevich (HINA), and produced by Noema Te Hau III. The waiata was created at the 2022 Reo Māori SongHubs, a songwriting camp curated by Bic Runga and Sir Tīmoti Karetu. 'Me Pēhea Rā’ was performed tonight by Tāmaki Mākaurau vocal powerhouse MAJIC.

The SOUNZ Contemporary Award | Te Tohu Auaha was awarded to Victoria Kelly for her expansive piece ‘Requiem’, arranged for soprano, tenor, choir and orchestra. With Requiem, Victoria set out to create a transient space where time is suspended, with each movement based on a different poem by Bill Manhire, Sam Hunt, Ian Wedde, Chloe Honum, and James K Baxter. ‘Requiem’ was reinterpreted and performed by the Francesca Parussini Ensemble.

Multi-award-winning composer Karl Sölve Steven has scooped up yet another APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award | Tohu Pūmanawa for his work on The Subtle Art of Not Giving a #@%!. The film is based on the bestselling book of the same name by Mark Manson and has been turned into a brutally honest self-help documentary.

APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award | Tohu Paerangi was awarded to Pōneke/Wellington-based composer Tom McLeod for his tense, string heavy score on Blood, Sex and Royalty. The show is a modern take on the British royal drama cut with contextual commentary and offering a window into the lives of history's most iconic monarchs. Tom has been a finalist multiple times for the APRA Screen Awards and has previously won this award twice for TV comedy Girl Vs Boy.

Watch all performances here

Full list of finalists and winners:

APRA Silver Scroll Award | Kaitito Kaiaka

  • WINNER: Expert in a Dying Field written by Elizabeth Stokes*, Jonathan Pearce, Benjamin Sinclair, Tristan Deck performed by The Beths (*Carpark Music Publishing via Gaga Music PTY LTD)
  • Don't Go Back written by Marlon Williams*, Mark Perkins* performed by Marlon Williams (*Concord Music Publishing)
  • Friday Night @ The Liquor Store written by Tom Scott, Christopher James performed by Avantdale Bowling Club
  • Layla written by Ruban Nielson, Kody Nielson performed by Unknown Mortal Orchestra (Mushroom Music PTY LTD)
  • The Crab / Waterbaby written by Hollie Fullbrook performed by Tiny Ruins (Kobalt Music Publishing)

APRA Maioha Award | Tohu Maioha

  • WINNER: Me Pēhea Rā written by Mohi Allen, Hēmi Kelly, Amy Boroevich, Noema Te Hau III, performed by MOHI
  • E Tama written by Hamiora Tuari, Ani Piki Tuari, Tame Tuari, Tatana Tuari, Matt Sadgrove, performed by Tuari Brothers
  • Raumati written by Jordyn Rapana translated by Te Kuru Dewes, performed by Jordyn with a Why

SOUNZ Contemporary Award | Te Tohu Auaha

  • WINNER: Requiem by Victoria Kelly based on poetry by Bill Manhire, Sam Hunt, Ian Wedde, Chloe Honum & James K Baxter - for Soprano, Tenor, Choir and Orchestra
  • Mycelium by Nathaniel Otley, for Bass Flute, Trumpet, Percussion, Electric Guitar, Keyboard, Violin, Cello, and Contrabass
  • No ro hunu ake by Joshua Pearson, for choral ensemble

APRA Best Original Music In A Series Award | Tohu Paerangi

  • WINNER: Tom McLeod for Blood, Sex, & Royalty
  • Mahuia Bridgman-Cooper for The Gone
  • Claire Cowan for Under The Vines

APRA Best Original Music In A Film Award | Tohu Pūmanawa

  • WINNER: Karl Sölve Steven for The Subtle Art of Not Giving a #@%!
  • Mark Vanilau for A Boy Called Piano - The Story of Fa'amoana John Luafutu
  • Cam Ballantyne for Nude Tuesday

NZ Music Hall of Fame | Te Whare Taonga Puoro o Aotearoa inductee

  • Don McGlashan

The 2023 APRA Silver Scroll Awards | Kaitito Kaiaka would not be possible without the generous support of NZ On Air, Te Māngai Pāho, and Hallertau Brewery.